Conceptualizing the initiative in 2016, The Thomas Scattergood Behavioral Health Foundation and Peg’s Foundation commissioned and released the first paper in the Think Bigger Do Good Policy Series the following year.  Recognizing the power of collaboration and collective impact, the Patrick P. Lee Foundation and The Peter and Elizabeth C. Tower Foundation joined the partnership and project efforts in 2019. These four committed behavioral health funders share the goal of improving the lives of people with mental illnesses.

The Think Bigger Do Good Policy Series is non-partisan and a collection of solution-oriented papers addressing current behavioral health policy issues. A consortium of strategic and tactical authorities in the mental health and addictions fields inform the development and dissemination of these papers. In addition to cultivating the topic list, the consortium identifies, recommends, and helps select the subject matter experts to author the papers.

Each paper in this series promotes effective advocacy and is intended to inform and educate the public on current mental health and substance use topics discussed at the local, state and federal levels.

Help solve the growing behavioral health needs in our country by advancing public policies to transform the delivery of mental health and substance use disorder services and address outdated funding mechanisms.

Join us by advocating for stronger behavioral health policies by sharing these papers with your programmatic partners, advocacy organizations, voters, and local, state, and federal decision makers.


We would like to acknowledge the following individuals who have advised the Think Bigger Do Good Policy Series by participating in the annual convenings.

Colleen Barry, Ph.D., M.P.P., John Hopkins Bloomberg School of Public Health

Cindy Baum-Baicker, Ph.D., The Scattergood Foundation

Anita Burgos, Ph.D., Bipartisan Policy Center

Thom Craig, M.P.A., Peg’s Foundation

Rebecca David, M.P.H., National Council for Behavioral Health

Kelly Davis, Mental Health America

Lisa Dixon, M.D., M.P.H., Columbia University, NY State Psychiatric Institute, and Psychiatric Services

Sara Dugan, Pharm.D., B.C.P.P., B.C.P.S., Northeast Ohio Medical University

Peter Earley, Author & Journalist

Alyson Ferguson, M.P.H., The Scattergood Foundation

Richard Frank, Ph.D., Harvard Medical School

Rachel Garfield, Ph.D., M.H.S., The Henry J. Kaiser Family Foundation

Mary Giliberti, J.D., Mental Health America

Aaron Glickman, B.A., Perelman School of Medicine, University of Pennsylvania

Sherry Glied, Ph.D., NYU Wagner School of Public Service

Howard Goldman, M.D., Ph.D., University of Maryland School of Medicine

Pamela Greenberg, MPP, Association for Behavioral Health and Wellness

Kimberly Hoagwood, Ph.D., New York University School of Medicine

Mike Hogan, Ph.D., Hogan Health Solutions

Chuck Ingoglia, M.S.W., National Council for Behavioral Health

Lloyd Sederer, M.D., NYS Office of Mental Health/Mailman School of Public Health

Dominic Sisti, Ph.D., Scattergood Program for Applied Ethics in Behavioral Health Care & Perelman School of Medicine at the University of Pennsylvania

Andrew Sperling, J.D., NAMI

Kate Williams, J.D., The Scattergood Foundation

Glenda Wrenn, M.D., 180 Health Partners

Rick Kellar, M.B.A., Peg’s Foundation

Kelly Kelleher, M.D., M.P.H., The Research Institute at Nationwide Children’s Hospital

Jennifer Mathis, J.D., Bazelon Center for Mental Health Law

Donald Matteson, M.A., Peter & Elizabeth Tower Foundation

Brian McGregor, Ph.D., Satcher Health Leadership Institute, Morehouse College

Erik Messamore, M.D., Northeast Ohio Medical University

Ben Miller, PsyD, Well Being Trust

Jane Mogavero, Esq., Patrick P. Lee Foundation

Mark Munetz, M.D., Northeast Ohio Medical University

Sandra Newman, Ph.D., John Hopkins Bloomberg School of Public Health

Joe Pyle, M.A., The Scattergood Foundation

Barbara Ricci, Center for High Impact Philanthropy

Cheryl Roberts, Esq., Greenberger Center

Victoria Romanda, Peg’s Foundation

Tracy A. Sawicki, Peter & Elizabeth Tower Foundation